Training Methods

iarvee

I'm a beginner rower and would like to know what kind of training is done beginners. I have no plans of competing, just for the fun of it. :)

Please tell me more: are you training on water, or are you training on land?

Around my house I have lots of motivational posters about rowing. :) It is to always remind me that no matter how hard the training is, rowing is always fun, and I am always striving to do my best.

There are different types of training in my experience, depending on whether you are rowing indoors or outdoors. If you are rowing indoors, I would suggest that you do sprints 500m and try and get a personal best, or sometimes I do a "rowing marathon" and I row for 30 mins non stop.

If you are rowing outdoors then I would suggest you to do different types of training like land training (eg push ups, running around, etc)

:) You welcome!!!

If you do it properly (put 100%) then you'll find that your body will be dead after training (for example I couldn't walk down the stairs without wobbling after being on ergs for 30 mins), but after that you body will get used to it - you'll grow muscle and get stronger over time.

Just don't over train!!!

I usually spend about 15 minutes doing my stretching routine. Then after that I usually start training on my rowing machine. When I have the time, I go down to the lake and row.

I usually spend about 15 minutes doing my stretching routine. Then after that I usually start training on my rowing machine. When I have the time, I go down to the lake and row.

Yeah, stretching is very important. :) I always seem to forget about it though. Which isn't very good, since that means that I would wake up with cramps in my legs the next morning or when I'm walking to school.